The Narnia Movies

image of Narnia movie posters

The Narnia Movies

Walden Media produced three movies based on The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis between 2005 and 2010.

  1. The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
    US Release Date: December 9, 2005
    Director: Andrew Adamson
    Box office: $745m worldwide
  2. The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian
    US Release Date: May 16, 2008
    Director: Andrew Adamson
    Box office: $420m worldwide
  3. The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
    US Release Date: December 10, 2010
    Director: Michael Apted
    Box office: $407m worldwide

The first two were distributed and co-financed by Walt Disney Pictures. Then, after Prince Caspian grossed less than expected, Disney departed and was replaced by 20th Century Fox.

Where to watch the Narnia movies

In 2019, Walt Disney Pictures acquired 20th Century Fox, which brought all the Narnia movies under one roof.

All three Narnia movies are on Disney Plus:

The movies are also available on Blu-ray and DVD.

Listen to NarniaWeb’s audio commentaries for the movies

Will there be a fourth Narnia movie?

After The Voyage of the Dawn Treader‘s box office sank below expectations, producers disagreed about which Narnia book to bring to the screen next. Walden Media hoped to produce The Magician’s Nephew as the fourth film in the series, but negotiations fell through and they lost the rights. 

In 2013, The Mark Gordon Company began developing The Chronicles of Narnia: The Silver Chair. Director Joe Johnston said it would begin a new Narnia “trilogy.” But the project was eventually abandoned due to creative differences between Douglas Gresham and the studio.

Currently, Netflix is developing Narnia movies and series with Matthew Aldrich at the helm. Here is everything we know.